As a Collaborator on a Wave business, you may see that the navigation menu looks different from your own Wave account. For the security and protection of business owners' sensitive data, there are a few pages in Wave that cannot be viewed as a collaborator. To help navigate these differences, we’ve put together this short list of permissions.

There are three types of Collaborators in Wave: View Only, View and Edit, and View, Edit, and Send, with several differences between View collaborators and Edit/Send collaborators.

View Only collaborators will have view access to most of the business profile. They cannot view/perform:

  • Business export
  • Credit Card Payment
  • Bank Connections (including the Dashboard bank balances)
  • Lending
  • Account/User Settings
  • Payroll
  • There will be no action buttons on the Transactions page
  • Ability to view or send Customer Statements
  • Ability to create Opening/Account balances under Accounting

TIP: “View Only” collaborators will not have the ability to perform any actions on the business they are invited to. This includes creating and sending invoices, adding transaction data to the business account, uploading receipts, etc.

View and Edit or View, Edit, and Send collaborators both have very similar permissions, but Send collaborators are also able to send invoices on behalf of the business owner’s primary email address. This means that when a customer views the invoice, they're able to reply directly to the business owner's email address.

These collaborators have more permissions than a “View Only” collaborator, with some exceptions. They cannot view:

  • Business export
  • Credit Card Payment
  • Bank Connections (including the Dashboard bank balances)
  • Lending
  • Account/User Settings
  • Payroll

If you are a Payroll Collaborator on a business, you will only have access to the Payroll section of the Wave business profile. To expand your permissions you will need to request an additional collaborator invitation from the owner of the Wave business.