How to cancel your payroll account

The cost of Wave Payroll includes a monthly subscription fee. Whether or not you are running payrolls this month, an active payroll account allows you to calculate payrolls, maintain employees, and download tax forms. You will incur monthly payroll subscription fees until you cancel your Payroll account.

Here's how you can cancel your Payroll Account:

  1. Navigate to Settings
  2. Scroll down to Payroll and click into Billing  
  3. Click on Cancel Account 
  4. Select your reason for cancelling the account and click Cancel 
  5. You will receive an email confirmation

When you cancel your Wave Payroll account, you will have access to payroll, until the end of the month in which you cancel. 

When your final month ends, you will not be able to approve payrolls or access data stored within the "Payroll" tab. You will no longer be billed the subscription fee. If you reactivate your account, you will be charged the base fee for the month in which you reactivate. 

You will not be able to cancel Payroll if you are using Tax Service. Please reach out to our support team if you are enrolled in Tax Services and would like to cancel. If you have an open communication with our team regarding this, please reply within your existing support ticket.

If you wish to resume using Payroll services, please follow these steps to reactivate your Payroll account: 

  1. Scroll down to Payroll and click into Billing  
  2. Click Reactivate your account. On the next screen, review the pricing plan and then click Reactivate your account once again 
  3. You'll receive confirmation, and the account status will change to Active 

Upon reactivation, the credit card on file will be billed a pro-rated subscription fee for the month in which you reactivated. 

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 9 found this helpful