How to deactivate your payroll account

The cost of Wave Payroll includes a monthly subscription fee. Whether or not you are running payrolls this month, an active payroll account allows you to calculate payrolls, maintain employees, and download tax forms. You will incur monthly payroll subscription fees until you deactivate your Payroll account.

Here's how you can deactivate your Payroll Account:

  1. Navigate to Settings
  2. Scroll down to Payroll and click into Billing  
  3. Click on Deactivate Account 
  4. Select your reason for deactivating the account and click Deactivate 
  5. You will receive a confirmation and the account status will change to Inactive 

Once you've deactivated your payroll account, you will not be able to run payrolls or access data stored within the Payroll page. You will no longer be billed the subscription fee. If you reactivate your account, you will be charged the base fee for the month in which you reactivate.

You will not be able to deactivate Payroll if you are using Tax Service. Please reach out to our support team if you are using Tax Service and would like to deactivate. If you have an open communication with our team regarding this issue, please reply within the existing support ticket.

If you wish to resume using Payroll services, please follow these steps to reactivate your Payroll account: 

  1. Scroll down to Payroll and click into Billing  
  2. Click Reactivate your account. On the next screen, review the pricing plan and then click Reactivate your account once again 
  3. You'll receive confirmation, and the account status will change to Active 

Upon reactivation, the credit card on file will be billed a pro-rated subscription fee for the month in which you reactivated.