Payroll by Wave offers an additional Tax Service for several states within the US. With this service, Wave can pay and file your state and federal taxes when you activate your Payroll account. All you have to do is sign up, and we’ll take it from there!

What states are supported by Tax Service?

Wave’s Tax Service is currently available in five US states: California, Florida, Illinois, New York, Texas, and Washington.

What payments will the Tax Service team make?


  • IRS-WH – Federal Income Tax, Social Security, Medicare
  • IRS-FUTA – Federal Unemployment Insurance Tax



  • State Income Tax Withholding 
  • California SDI (State Disability Insurance)
  • California State Unemployment Insurance Tax


  • Florida Reemployment Tax


  • State Income Tax Withholding
  • Illinois State Unemployment Tax

New York

  • New York State Withholding Tax
  • New York State Unemployment Insurance Tax


  • Texas Unemployment Insurance Tax


  • Washington State Unemployment Insurance Tax
  • Washington State Industrial Insurance

What forms will the Tax Service team file?


  • Form 941 – Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return, OR, depending on filing frequency, Form 944 – Employer's Annual Federal Tax Return
  • Form 940 – Employer's Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return
  • W-2/W-3 – Year end filing to Social Security Administration (SSA)

As of October 2017, Tax Service is “opt out” for employers, meaning Tax Service will be set up automatically once you activate your Payroll subscription – but you can choose to cancel this service at any time.

Was this article helpful?
19 out of 23 found this helpful