How to invite a user to help you with Payroll

Wave makes it easy to let others help run and manage your payroll. You can give access to a trusted individual – an accountant, a bookkeeper or a business partner, for example – by inviting him or her to be a Payroll user. Inviting a user to Payroll means that person will be able to access and make changes to the Payroll and Reports sections of your Wave account.

Note: If you would like the user to have access to your other accounting information, you will need to send a separate invitation.

  1. Click on the Settings option in the left menu then click the Payroll Users under User Management.
  2. Under Invite a User, enter the email address of the person you want to work with and click Invite.
  3. Your user will receive an email with an invitation to collaborate with you. If the user is not a preexisting Wave customer, they will receive instructions to create a password. The email address you sent the message to and the new password will give them access to your payroll.

    If your user already has a Wave account, they can log into Wave as usual, but will be able to see your payroll as well as any other businesses connected to the Wave account.

Ending or canceling user access

If you would like to terminate your user's access, follow the steps above to access the Payroll Users page. Click the trash icon to the right of the user's name. You will be asked if you would like to remove the user. Click Remove and that user will no longer have access to your business's payroll.