Wave’s new Automerge feature

Transactions imported through a bank connection or statement upload, and transactions automatically created in Wave when you manually record a payment on a bill or invoice, can lead to duplicates. The new Automerge feature eliminates the manual work required to ensure your books stay accurate. This article will walk you through everything you need to know about this new feature.

What is Automerge and how does it work?

How will I know if a transaction was automatically merged?

What if a transaction was incorrectly merged?

What is Automerge and how does it work?

If you import transactions into Wave (through a bank connection, statement upload, or Wave Connect), and also manually record payments on invoices and bills to mark them as paid, you will see duplicate transactions. The Automerge feature detects these duplicate transactions and automatically merges them.

If you receive a payment for an invoice, or make a bill payment, you may prefer to mark the invoice or bill as paid immediately in Wave, to keep track of them. However, when you record a manual payment on an invoice or bill, Wave automatically creates transactions on the Transactions page to account for the invoice, or bill payment. When the same transaction is imported through a bank connection or a statement upload, it will result in duplicate transactions.

The current workflow to resolve the duplicate transactions is to manually merge the two transactions. This is done by clicking the checkboxes to the left of the transactions you want to merge, and then selecting the Merge button at the top of the page. The new Automerge feature eliminates this manual process by automatically merging these transactions, saving you time!

The Automerge feature only applies to transactions under the same account. It also works only for individual invoice or bill payments, and not lump sum payments for multiple invoices or bills.

If a transaction that was imported has multiple potential matches with automatically created Wave invoice or bill payment transactions, Automerge will not apply. This is to reduce the chances of incorrect merges. You can manually merge the transactions if you notice duplicates. To merge two transactions, click on the checkbox to the left of each transaction, and select the Merge button at the top of the page.

How will I know if a transaction was automatically merged?

When Wave automatically merges your transactions, the new Automerge Feed on the Transactions page is updated. This allows you to stay in control of your books by reviewing the actions that were taken.

Automerge transactions are also highlighted in purple so that you can easily identify them on the Transactions page, at a glance.

The new Automerge Feed button is at the top of your Transactions page. Click it to open the feed, and view details of duplicates that were found and automatically merged. The Automerge Feed updates every week. Click View merged transactions on the feed to view all Automerge transactions. This shows you a view of your Transactions page with the Automerge filter applied.

You can also filter for Automerge transactions anytime by clicking on Filter at the top right of your Transactions page, and checking the Automerge filter box.

What if a transaction was incorrectly merged?

On your Transactions page, all automatically merged transactions will have an icon beside the transaction, in place of the Mark as reviewed button. If you click on this icon, a modal opens, with the options-Review Automerge and Mark as reviewed.

If your transaction is not categorized, you will notice the Mark as reviewed button is greyed out on the modal. You will need to first categorize the transaction before you can mark it as reviewed.

To review the merged transactions, click Review Automerge. If you notice the transactions were incorrectly merged, click the Unmerge button. This unmerges the transactions, and you will now see two separate transactions on the Transactions page.

Click Confirm merge if you have verified the transactions were correctly merged. Once done, mark the transaction as reviewed by clicking the Mark as reviewed button beside the transaction on the Transactions page.