How to resolve duplicate customer profiles

If you accidentally created a duplicate customer profile in Wave, or imported customer information from a file that had duplicates, you can delete the duplicate profile. However, if you have invoices associated with that customer profile, you will not be able to do so. Read on for more information on how to resolve this.

If there are invoices associated with the customer profile you want to delete, you need to first edit the invoices to select a different customer. If an invoice was marked as paid, you will need to remove the payment on the invoice before you can edit it to choose a different customer. Once there are no invoices associated with the profile, you will be able to delete it.

If an invoice was paid through Wave Payments, you cannot edit it to choose a different customer. However, you can edit a customer profile to differentiate it from the one you want to keep, so that you can avoid using it on future invoices. 

 

Here are the steps you can take to differentiate between the duplicate profiles, and ensure all your invoices are associated with the correct profile before you delete the duplicate.

  1. Click Sales on the left navigation menu, then select Customers.
  2. Search by customer name in the search field at the top of the page to locate the customer profiles.
  3. Click on each profile (or open it in a new tab), and then click the Invoices tab at the top of the page to view a list of invoices associated with the customer.

    This helps you identify the customer profile you want to keep, and the one to delete.

  4. Rename the profile you want to delete to something like Customer name (old) so that you can differentiate between the two profiles. To edit the profile, click the dropdown arrow to the right of the customer on the Customers page, and select Edit. Edit the name in the Customer field.

    The customer name will change on all the invoices associated with that profile.

  5. If the invoices were not paid through Wave Payments, go through the list of invoices under the customer profile you want to delete, and edit each one to select the correct customer;
      1. Click on each invoice to view it, then click the Edit invoice button.
      2. Click Choose a different customer on the top left of the invoice, under the customer details.
      3. Select the correct customer profile from the list.

    If the invoice is marked as paid, you have to remove the payment first, before you can change the customer. Click on the invoice to view it, then click Remove payment within the Get paid section. You will then be able to edit the invoice to choose a different customer, after which you can record the payment once again.

 

Once you’ve edited all the invoices under the profile you want to delete, and there are no more invoices associated with it, follow these steps to delete the profile.

  1. Click Sales on the left navigation menu, then select Customers.
  2. Search for the customer by entering the customer name in the search field at the top.
  3. Once you’ve located the customer profile you want to delete, click the dropdown arrow to the right of the customer, and select Delete.
  4. In the pop-up that appears, click Delete to confirm.

Deleted customer profiles cannot be recovered.