How to manually merge or unmerge transactions

This article walks you through the steps to manually merge transactions, or unmerge an incorrectly automerged transaction.

Wave automatically merges some duplicate transactions. Learn more about which transactions automerge applies to in Automated bookkeeping with auto-updates.

Manually merge duplicate transactions

Unmerge incorrectly automerged transactions

Unmerge a reviewed or manually merged transaction

Manually merge duplicate transactions

  1. Navigate to Accounting > Transactions, and locate the two transactions you want to merge.
  2. Select the checkboxes to the left of the two transactions.
  3. Click the merge icon at the top of the Transactions page.

You can only merge two transactions. If you select more than two transactions, the merge icon will be greyed out.

Unmerge incorrectly automerged transactions

  1. Navigate to Accounting > Transactions.
  2. Locate the transaction to unmerge.

    To view only automerged transactions, click the Filter button at the top right, click the Wave auto-updates filter, and select the checkbox next to Merges.

  3. Click the auto-updates icon to the right of the transaction.
  4. Click Review Automerge, then click the Unmerge button in the pop-up that appears.

This unmerges the transactions, and you will see two separate transactions on the Transactions page.

Unmerge a reviewed or manually merged transaction

  1. Navigate to Accounting > Transactions.
  2. Click the small dropdown arrow to the right of the transaction, and select Edit more details.
  3. Click Merged transactions at the top right of the transaction detail window.
  4. In the pop-up box, click Unmerge.

This unmerges the transactions, and you will see two separate transactions on the Transactions page.