Invite or remove collaborators from your business

You can grant a trusted individual, for example, an accountant, a tax preparer, or a business partner, access to your Wave account by inviting that person to be a user.

Learn about the different user types and permission levels.

You have to add users separately for each business or personal profile you wish to give access to, which means:

  • A user you invite to your business profile cannot see your personal profile.
  • A user you invite to your personal profile cannot see your business profile.
  • If you want someone to access both your personal and business profiles, you must invite them twice (once for each profile).
  • Businesses in Wave are controlled separately. If you'd like someone to have access to more than one business, you have to invite them separately for each business.

Add a user to your business profile

Delete a user from your business profile

Edit a user’s access

Add a user to your business profile

Remember, you are granting access to sensitive information, including a history of all your bank and credit card transactions. However, if you’ve connected a bank account, your online banking passwords will not be available to the user since these are saved separately from your accounting information.

  1. Open the top-right menu by clicking your business name.
  2. Click Business settings.
  3. Click on Users from the Settings menu, under User management.User settings page for business owner on a Wave Starter Plan
  4. Click on the role you want to give your collaborator.

    All Wave account owners can add Payroll Managers, and, if your business is based in the US, Block Advisor Tax Pros. Only business owners subscribed to Wave’s Pro Plan can invite Admins, Editors and Viewers.

    If you already have a user collaborating on your business, click Invite user in the top right corner. Guest collaborators

  5. Add their first name, last name, email address and position within your business.

    If you’re adding an Editor, optionally toggle the user’s access to Send invoices and Manage payroll to ON. If you’re adding a Viewer, you may choose to toggle Manage payroll to ON.

  6. Click Invite user.

On the User Management page, you will now see the pending invitations. The user will receive an email, inviting them to join your business in Wave.

To resend an invitation:

  1. Click on your business name in the top right corner, then select Business settings.
  2. In the Settings menu on the left, click Users.
  3. Click Edit next to the user’s name, then select Resend Invite.

If the user does not have a Wave account, they should click Join your business name in the email, and enter their email address and a password to create a Wave account. 

If the user already has a Wave account, they should click Add your business name.

Wave will automatically select a currency based on the user’s location when they create a new account. The currency can only be changed at this stage of account creation. As Wave is only available to businesses located in Canada and the US, the options available to choose from are CAD and USD.

Delete a user from your business profile

  1. Click your business name in the top right corner, then click Business settings.
  2. In the Settings menu on the left, click Users.
  3. Click Delete beside the user's name.
  4. Click Remove user to confirm the deletion of the user.

Edit a user’s access

  1. Click your business name in the top right corner, then click Business settings.
  2. In the Settings menu on the left, click Users.
  3. Click Edit next to the user you want to edit.
  4. Change their user type under the Role heading, then click Update Info.