Cancel or reactivate your payroll account

Cancel your payroll account

Reactivate your payroll account

Frequently asked questions about billing

Cancel your payroll account

If you are enrolled in Wave's automated tax payment and filing service and want to cancel your payroll subscription, click on the help icon at the bottom right of the screen in your Wave account, and type Cancel payroll and tax service. Wave's support chatbot, Mave, will help you submit a request with the required information to the Payroll Team.

  1. Log in to your account at waveapps.com.
  2. At the bottom of the left navigation menu, click Settings.
  3. Under the Payroll heading, click Billing.
  4. Click Cancel Payroll Subscription

    To temporarily pause payroll and switch to a Limited Access subscription instead, click Switch my subscription. To cancel, click No thanks, I’d prefer to cancel, then follow the prompts.

When you cancel your payroll subscription, you will have access to payroll until the end of the month in which you cancel. After that, you will not be able to approve payrolls or access your payroll data so make sure to export everything you need. To export all your tax forms, download them under Payroll > Tax forms. To export your employee information and pay stubs, see How to export your data.

What if you need to generate year-end forms? 

To generate year-end forms in Wave, you need an active payroll subscription. If you cancel your subscription before the year-end forms are available, you need to reactivate it to generate the forms.

The month in which you should reactivate varies between countries: 

  • If your business is in the US, you should reactivate in January to obtain your W-2 and W-3 forms.
  • If your business is in Canada, you should reactivate in February to obtain your T4 Slips, T4 Summary, and T4A forms.

Reactivate your payroll account

  1. Log in to your account at waveapps.com.
  2. At the bottom of the left navigation menu, click Settings.
  3. Under the Payroll heading, click Billing.
  4. Click Reactivate your account. On the next screen, review your subscription details then click Reactivate your account again 

You'll receive confirmation, and your payroll subscription begins immediately. Upon reactivation, you will be charged the base fee for the month in which you reactivate including the active employee fee.

Frequently asked questions about billing

When is my subscription billed?

Wave Payroll is billed on the first day of the month. Your invoice includes a monthly subscription fee and employee and contractor fees. The monthly subscription fee is for the current month, and contractor and active employee fees are for the previous month. This means that your first monthly bill will only have a monthly subscription fee.

Why did I receive a bill for the month after I stopped my subscription?

Wave Payroll charges employee and contractor fees after the month ends. When you cancel, your final bill will have employee and contractor fees for your final month of service. Wave reminds you of this bill and the date it will be billed when you cancel. More information about how monthly fees and employee and contractor fees are charged can be found above in When is my subscription billed?

I have another billing question that hasn’t been answered. What should I do?

If you have additional questions about your payroll invoice or payroll billing, click on the help icon at the bottom right of the screen in your Wave account. Ask Wave’s support chatbot, Mave, about payroll billing.