What does reviewing a transaction do?

The review tool on the Transactions page allows you to mark a transaction as reviewed, which helps you ensure all the details of the transaction are verified.

When you import or create a transaction, it's good practice to ensure a category is selected, a sales tax set, any customer or vendor information is added, and the description is correct. Only the Category field is mandatory in order to verify the transaction, but make sure you've included everything you need to keep your records accurate.

Think of reviewed transactions as verified transactions, and unreviewed transactions as transactions that still need your attention. Take some time to go through your unreviewed transactions, and make any necessary changes. Once you've checked that a transaction is correct, you can mark it as reviewed.

Reviewing Transactions

To review a transaction on the Transactions page, click on the Mark as reviewed button or the checkmark to its right.

The Mark as reviewed button is greyed out if the transaction is not categorized. Categorize the transaction first, to mark it as reviewed.

You can also mark a transaction as reviewed in the transaction details panel. To open the transaction detail view, click on the small dropdown arrow to the right of a transaction, and select Edit more details. Then click Mark as reviewed on the bottom left of the transaction detail pop-up box.

Transactions that are automatically merged or categorized will have an auto-updates icon in place of the Mark as reviewed checkmark button. Click on the icon to review the categorization or merge, or mark the transaction as reviewed. Learn more in Automated bookkeeping with auto-updates.

Leaving a transaction as unreviewed doesn't impact your reports, or the ability to perform bank reconciliation.