How to edit customer information

Sometimes your customer’s details will change, and you’ll need to update them, or you need to delete a customer altogether. This article will take you through the steps to do so.

To edit a customer's information, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the Sales option on the left-hand menu.
  2. Click on Customers.
  3. On the Customers page, find the name of the customer whose information you would like to edit.
  4. Click on the Customer you'd like to update.
  5. Click on the Edit customer button.
  6. On the Edit customer page you can change several details, such as the customer name, email, the name of your main contact if your customer is a company, and the currency you conduct your business in with that customer.
  7. Click Save to finish editing.

To delete a customer, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the Sales option on the left-hand menu.
  2. Click on Customers.
  3. On the Customers page, find the name of the customer who you would like to delete.
  4. Select the dropdown arrow at the end of the row.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. You’ll be asked to confirm you want to delete the customer. Click Delete again to confirm.

If the customer is associated with an invoice or transactions, you won’t be able to delete their profile. Learn more in Why can’t I delete certain customers?